News, Favorites

VineForecast in the final of the Harry Otten Award

Harry Otten Preis Siegerehrung mit VineForecast

Award for innovation in meteorology - VineForecast reaches TOP 3

At our first StartUp competition, we reached the finals of the Harry Otten Prize (award for innovation in meteorology) with VineForecast at the beginning of September. We were one of the three selected projects from an international field of applicants.

The final took place at the annual conference of the European Meteorological Society (EMS) in Copenhagen. There, Paul Petersik presented the VineForecast forecasting system and answered questions from international experts.

Harry Otten Award presented by namesake

The Harry Otten Prize is awarded every two years by the Harry Otten Foundation and this year it was awarded for the 5th time. First of all, we would like to congratulate the winners Malcom Kitchen and Chris Brunt from the UK Met Office. They are developing a measuring device to accurately determine relative humidity in higher atmospheric layers.

Alongside VineForecast, Sky-Echo completes the TOP3 with its "enLight" project. With the help of enLight, citizens will in future be warned in good time about approaching weather hazards such as thunderstorms by means of special lighting elements that can be attached to lampposts, for example.

Long preparation time for the final of the Harry Otten Prize in Copenhagen

The final was preceded by two selection rounds. In these rounds we convinced the jurors of VineForecast and were nominated for the final in Copenhagen. With an idea that slowly took shape at the beginning of the year and is now 6 months in development, we faced a professional audience for the first time.

In a lively and focused discussion, we were able to enjoy the many positive responses and valuable feedback. In particular, the exchange with the other participants proved to be extremely exciting. For example, Sky-Echo is working on high-resolution radar images that can estimate precipitation with up to 20 times higher accuracy than ordinary radar images. In the future, viticulture could also benefit from the development of this technology in order to be able to estimate more precisely the precipitation that has fallen as well as the water content of the soil.

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Related articles

VineForecast Team

ABOUT THIS BLOG

In our blog, we provide regular updates on VineForecast developments. Furthermore, we report on current topics in viticulture with a focus on integrated pest management and digitalization in viticulture. To this end, we talk to industry experts, among others, and also give you regular updates via our social media channels.

Our favorites
Categories

VineForecast Blog

VineForecast im Finale des Harry Otten Preises

Harry Otten Preis Siegerehrung mit VineForecast

Preis für Innovation in der Meteorologie – VineForecast erreicht TOP 3

Auf unserem ersten StartUp-Wettbewerb erreichten wir Anfang September mit VineForecast das Finale des Harry Otten Preises (Preis für Innovation in der Meteorologie). Wir waren damit eines der drei ausgewählten Projekte aus einem internationalen Bewerberfeld.

Das Finale fand auf der jährlichen Konferenz der European Meteorological Society (EMS) in Kopenhagen statt. Dort präsentierte Paul Petersik das Prognosesystem VineForecast und stellte sich den Fragen der internationalen Experten.

Harry Otten Preis durch Namensgeber überreicht

Der Harry Otten Preis wird alle zwei Jahre von der Harry Otten Foundation ausgeschrieben und dieses Jahr bereits zum 5. Mal verliehen. Zunächst gratulieren wir ganz herzlich den Gewinnern Malcom Kitchen und Chris Brunt vom UK Met Office. Diese entwickeln ein Messgerät zur genauen Bestimmung der relativen Luftfeuchtigkeit in höheren Atmosphärenschichten.

Neben VineForecast komplettiert Sky-Echo mit ihrem Projekt “enLight” die TOP3. Mithilfe von enLight sollen Bürger in Zukunft durch spezielle Leuchtelemente, die beispielsweise an Laternen angebracht werden, über herannahende Wettergefahren wie Gewitter rechtzeitig gewarnt werden.

Lange Vorbereitungszeit auf das Finale des Harry Otten Preises in Kopenhagen

Dem Finale vorausgegangen waren bereits zwei Auswahlrunden. In diesen überzeugten wir die Juroren von VineForecast und wurden für das Finale in Kopenhagen nominiert. Mit einer Idee, die Anfang des Jahres so langsam Formen annahm und sich nunmehr 6 Monaten Entwicklungsphase befindet, traten wir das erste Mal einem Fachpublikum gegenüber.

In einer lebendigen und zielgerichteten Diskussion konnten wir uns über die vielen positiven Rückmeldungen und das wertvolle Feedback freuen. Insbesondere der Austausch mit den anderen Teilnehmern erwies sich als äußerst spannend. So arbeitet Sky-Echo beispielsweise an hochaufgelösten Radaraufnahmen, die Niederschlag mit einer bis zu 20 mal höheren Genauigkeit abschätzen können als gewöhnliche Radaraufnahmen. Zukünftig könnte auch der Weinbau von der Entwicklung dieser Technologie profitieren, um exakter den gefallenen Niederschlag sowie den Wassergehalt des Bodens abschätzen zu können.

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Ähnliche Artikel

Paul und Richard Petersik tauschen sich über VineForecast aus

Paul & Richard Petersik

Klimaphysiker & Betriebswirt

In unserem Blog geben wir regelmäßige Updates zu den Entwicklungen des Prognosesystems VineForecast. Des Weiteren berichten wir über aktuelle Themen im Weinbau mit Schwerpunkt auf den integrierten Pflanzenschutz und der Digitalisierung im Weinbau. Dazu sprechen wir unter anderem mit Branchenexperten und geben Ihnen auch über unsere Social Media Kanäle regelmäßige Updates.

Unsere Favoriten
Kategorien